Admission Helpline

+91 8822177520

Call Us

+91 9435490221

Email Us

Department of History

The Murkong Selek College was founded on 14 September 1984. Almost a decade later, i.e. in 1995, honours course in history was introduced at the college. The birth of the history department of Murkong Selek College marks a new beginning at the region of Jonai which is located in the Assam-Arunachal Pradesh borderland. This region is located in the periphery of India in the true sense of the term. The Department's founders envisioned creating an educational institution that stood for democratic values and aimed to deliver the knowledge of History amongst the students of this T.S.P. (Tribal sub Plan) area.

The M.S. College is under Dibrugarh University in the Upper Assam region of northeast India. The Department teaches the students following a syllabus that Dibrugarh University curates. The syllabus is mostly designed based on the political, economic, and cultural history of Assam, India, and the World beginning from ancient human civilisations till the contemporary period. Faculty members of the Department are deeply engaged in teaching history to the students who mostly come from socially and economically marginal social groups, including tribes.

Despite the fact that there are only two sanctioned posts since its inception, the department has left no stone unturned to impart quality education which is evident from the successes of number of its alumni who are now well settled in different professions. Additionally, faculty is familiar with the languages of the students here which stand as an added advantage in the process of teaching and learning. Not to mention, the faculty members strive to have deep understanding on the prescribed syllabus for the optimal benefits of the students. The department presently offers B.A. and H.S. courses.

1. Sri Mahim Ch. Payeng, M.A (NET) Associate Professor, Head 8486659413 Joined 1999- Serving till date
2. Smt. Jharna Gogoi Assistant Professor 8876520671 Joined 2021- Serving till date
3. Mamta Majumdar Assistant Professor Contactual

1. Bhewla Kanta Pegu Joined in 1987 and Retired in 2018
2. Niroda Doley Pegu Joined in 1992 and Retired in 1999